i am me because of you

Through The Window

Today the Year 5’s went on a field trip. We were looking beyond the obvious. How many times have we driven down the same street or around the city and never really noticed anything?

DSC_1678

The students went on a bus trip around the city of Mombasa to ‘notice’ and ‘name’ the things that they were curious about. They were to look and react to the world around them. The city was alive with so many things happening. What they recorded was fascinating. Again, this is a prime example of stepping back and letting kids show us how to teach them.

Here are some of the things they recorded:

  • What does paint peel off?
  • Why are there so many potholes on the road?
  • Why does the sun only reflect from certain surfaces?
  • Where does the power come from through the wires?
  • Why does the tide rise and fall?
  • Why does the weather change so quickly?
  • What impact does the smoke have from the factory on people and the environment?
  • How do boats float?
  • How do big banners/posters survive in the weather?
  • Why do I see more grass than trees?
  • Why do clouds make different patterns?
  • Why are tires made from rubber?

I could go on and on as they had so much to say about the things they are curious about and what mostly interested them. From here, we will sort them into the different types of science, develop questions and then choose one that they actually want to learn more about.

DSC_1676

Again, it was another reminder that if we (teachers) stand back and let the kids show us what they already know, we then can adapt and meet their learning needs in a whole new way. This is responsive teaching. This is real learning.

Leave a comment about the experience you had. What were you mostly curious about?

 

Comments on: "Through The Window" (23)

  1. Pranay Hira said:

    I liked the trip because we were told to write as many questions as you can that came to your mind

  2. Saloni Patel said:

    I was most curious about why the sand underneath the water was smooth whereas the sand on the seaweed which was still underneath the water was rough.
    Saloni Patel

  3. i enjoyed the trip because i was not to only required to observe but to feel and lie on your back and just wonder.

  4. Sarah Rishad said:

    Nice I
    am luckily mine is there this are fantastic records

  5. i loved the Field Trip because we got to explore many different stuff and it was a really good and fun thing to do.
    fatma

  6. Rahul Doshi said:

    I liked the trip because, not only we wrote about our wonderings, but we also got to spend time digging deep inside and observing nature and our surroundings.

  7. I really enjoyed the field trip, because me and my friends were happy and exited to be there because it was our first year 5 field trip!!!!

  8. Sorry forgot to write my name!! Ooopppsss!!!!!!

  9. jai morjaria said:

    THE FIELD TRIP WAS SO HONKING COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!
    -jai

  10. Sarah Cochu said:

    I think the field trip was really good to test our curiosity I was most curios about why does paint peel off?

  11. Moraa Siika said:

    I enjoyed the field trip. Normally when i travel, i ignore outside and talk to my family, but this field trip was an eye opener. We went on a field trip to look beyond the obvious. We did that because our unit is “curiosity”

  12. people are looking and writing about what they are curios about of what they see pleas comment on me thinks.

  13. Mehwish Punjani said:

    i like the field trip because we got to explore many new things. every day we pass the same root we do not notice the nature

  14. I LIKED THE TRIP BECAUSE WE CAN BE CURIOUS ABOUT MANY THINGS THANK YOU MR CHAD FOR TNI OPPORTUNITY

  15. Tiana Vora said:

    I really loved the field trip. I saw and learnt a lot about my environment. It made me think. Seeing so many different types of vehicles made me ask the question, “Why are tires made of rubber?”
    Tiana

  16. I LOVED THE FEALD TRIP ANDWE PAST BY MY COSINS HOUSE .

  17. sumaiya omar said:

    hello summative assessments are really fun. i am working on geothermal energy.

  18. sumaiya nice to know

  19. I loved the field trip I learnt a lot and the questions about curiosity I wrote 30 I guess

  20. my birthday is on sep 5

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

